The Honorary Commanders Program was officially established in 2011. The first induction luncheon was held in December of the same year when it announced the appointment of 16 civilian Honorary Commanders into the wing, along with the wing’s objectives and initiatives.

The Honorary Commander Program was formed to forge strong bonds and build sustainable relationships between civilian and military that will ultimately strengthen our communities, as well as strengthen the resolve of the brave men and women who serve and protect them.

Our Honorary Commanders follow an intensive nomination and application process. The wing, along with the Alamo Wing Honorary Commanders Alumni Association, assists with the selection of up to 24 civilian business and civic leaders of San Antonio and surrounding areas in a year-long program. They are placed in a position to provide encouragement, aid, and to promote our community and address the civilian-military/civilian-service divide by ensuring support for our military.

Through the course of the next 12 months, Reserve Citizen Airmen provide assigned Honorary Commanders an insight into what they do in their selected squadron, give them an education in military affairs, and the wing’s economic impact on the community. In addition, Honorary Commanders will experience in-depth tours of the wing’s four groups, Joint Base San Antonio, and wing events, as well as sponsored visits to out-of-town Air Force bases.

On the other hand, civic leaders will be able to introduce Reserve Citizen Airmen to what they do during a job shadowing day when they can invite them to their place of business, and have them shadow them for a day. They are also encouraged to ask and have them participate in other events in the community that they deem fit.

For more information about the Honorary Commanders Program, contact the public affairs office at 210-925-5194 or by email at 433awpa@us.af.mil.

Honorary Commander Program Class Members

2019-2020 Class Members

Bill Dante

Co-owner, Dante Klar Media Group


Bill Drain

Owner and operator, Backstage Attraction


Roy Elizondo

Council member, City of Fair Oaks Ranch Office


Barbara Gervin-Hawkins

State representative, Texas District 120


Paula Gold-Williams

President and chief executive officer, CPS Energy


Bertha Gonzaba

Regional director, Starbucks Coffee Company


David Hennessee

Immediate past board chair, San Antonio Area Foundation


Robert Imler

Community & government relations consultant, self-employed


Andrea Knight

Assist vice president, financial center manager, Frost Bank


John Leal

Director, local government relations external relations, CPS Energy


Mayor Ron Nirenberg

City of San Antonio


Kevin Pierce

Vice president/general manager, Way Engineering Ltd.


Don Preecs

Attorney, KCI, Acelity L.P. Inc.


Clay Richmond

Vice president, JSWC, Ltd.


Sheriff Javier Salazar

Bexar County


Ben Swaney

Owner, The Prestigious Mark


Darrell Taylor

Vice president, loss and prevention security, H-E-B Grocery Company


John Thurman

Broker/owner and founder, Heart of Texas Realty


Craig Veltri

Chairman and founder, Veltri Interests, Inc., dba Office Resource Center


Rich Weimer

Director of baseball operations, San Antonio Missions


Steve Young

Vice president of information technology, VIA Metropolitan Transit