Col. Brendon C. Bartholomew is the Deputy Commander of the 433rd Airlift Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas. He assists the commander in directing the operations and activities of approximately 2,500 people assigned to the wing headquarters and 21 subordinate units. The wing provides mission-ready Airmen in agile combat support and medical specialties to fulfill expeditionary joint war-fighting requirements. The Alamo Wing is also the home of the Formal Training Unit for all C-5M Super Galaxy aircrew training.

Col. Bartholomew previously served as the A3/5 Deputy Director, 4th Air Force, United States Air Force Reserve, March Air Reserve Base, California. As deputy director, he was responsible for operations and training for AFRC’s largest and most diverse NAF, supporting 35,000 MAF Airmen across 18 wings and one regional support group.

Col. Bartholomew entered the Air Force in 2000 as a graduate of the Reserve Officer Training Corps, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona. He is a combat pilot with more than 3,000 flying hours, including more than 700 combat hours in Afghanistan and Iraq in the AC-130U gunship and C-17A Globemaster III.

Col. Bartholomew has held a number of flying and staff positions in Air Mobility Command and Air Force Special Operations Command to include AC-130U Navigator, C-17A Instructor Pilot, 62nd Operations Support Squadron Assistant Operations Officer, 62nd Operations Group Executive Officer, Headquarters Air Force Special Operations Command Chief of Air Force Programming (A8P), 66th Air Operations Squadron Director of Combat Development, 27th Expeditionary Special Operations Group-SOUTH Commander (27th ESOG/CC), and 859th Special Operations Squadron Commander (859th SOS/CC). Additionally, Col Bartholomew organized and led Joint Base Lewis-McChord’s single largest support effort for Operation UNIFIED RESPONSE, the US military’s humanitarian response to the 2010 earthquake in Haiti and participated in multiple deployments in support of Operations IRAQI FREEDOM, ENDURING FREEDOM and NEW DAWN.

2000 Bachelor of Arts in Political Science, Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz.
2004 Squadron Officers School, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.
2010 Master of Arts in Aerospace Management, Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, Fla.
2010 Air Command and Staff College (Correspondence), Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.
2020 Air War College, Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala.
2021 RCNSC, Washington D.C.

1. January 2000 – November 2000, Student, Specialized Undergraduate Navigator Training, Randolph AFB, Texas
2. November 2000 – July 2004, AC-130U Navigator, 4th Special Operations Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Fla.
3. July 2004 – July 2005, Student, Undergraduate Pilot Training, Laughlin AFB, Texas
4. July 2005 – May 2010, C-17 Instructor Pilot, 8th Airlift Squadron, McChord AFB, Wash.
5. May 2010 – August 2013, Chief of Air Force Programming, Air Force Special Operations Command, Hurlburt Field, Fla.
6. August 13 – September 2015, Combat Development Director, 66th Air Operations Squadron, Fort Bragg, N.C.
7. October 2015 – January 2018, C-146A Pilot, 859th Special Operations Squadron, Duke Field, Fla.
8. January 2018 – January 2021, Squadron Commander, 859th Special Operations Squadron, Duke Field, Fla.
9. January 2021 – Nov 2021, Deputy Group Commander, 919th Special Operations Group, Duke Field, Fla.
10. November 2021 – April 2023, Deputy Director, 4 AF/A3/5, March Air Reserve Base, Calif.
11. April 2023 – Present, Deputy Commander, 433rd Airlift Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas

Rating: Senior Pilot
Flight hours: More than 3,000, including over 700 combat hours
Aircraft flown: AC-130U, T-6, T-1, C-17A, C-32B, and C-146A

Meritorious Service Medal with one oak leaf cluster
Air Medal with two oak leaf clusters
Joint Service Commendation Medal
Air Force Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters
Air Force Combat Action Medal
Humanitarian Service Medal
Nuclear Deterrence Operations Service Medal

Airlift/Tanker Association Special Operations Association

Second Lieutenant December 26, 2000
First Lieutenant December 26, 2002
Captain December 26, 2004
Major September 01, 2010
Lieutenant Colonel January 15, 2016
Colonel August 01, 2021

(Current as of May 2023)